Daily Archives: January 16, 2010

An Eclipse and Lots More….

Standard

Everyone had been really excited about the solar eclipse that occurred on 15th January 2010. It was the millennium’s longest solar eclipse and all of us had been really lucky to watch this wonderful spectacle in sky.

The mood was no different in our college too. There was lots of excitement in the air. And it all started nearly one week before the eclipse when rumors started spreading that we may get a holiday on Friday. The excitement was more due to the rumor than the eclipse itself. In a college, nothing sounds more important than the prospect of a holiday, not even a solar eclipse. There were serious discussions on how to go home in case a half day holiday was declared. But many ruled out the possibility because the eclipse was to occur between 11:30am and 3pm. Finally after all the debates and discussions, on Thursday night, we realized that all our hopes were in vain- we had regular classes on Friday. But soon there was another announcement – that lunch would be served at 10:10am on Friday.

I wondered how I could manage an early lunch after a late breakfast at 8am. I guess that was the hot discussion topic on Thursday night. You see, we never fall in short of discussion topics, especially in a girl’s hostel. Here rumors spread faster than wild firesJ

Finally Friday dawned. We went to college as usual. I took a packet of biscuits with me as I thought I would have them during the 10 minutes break at 12pm. I was sure that I could not have an early lunch. Soon I found out that many of my classmates had also decided to skip their lunch. The new ‘lunch’ break was from 10:10 to 11:10. Some of my friends went to mess for their ‘Brunch’ (‘Br’eakfast+’L’unch’). Some of them sat in the class and completed the maths assignment that was to be submitted on that day. Others just walked around the college. Arrangements had been made in the ‘E-learning’ centre to watch the eclipse through television. So by 11, some of us went there. I started eating my biscuits at11 and soon my friends were warning me to eat fast because according to them once the eclipse started, food would become poison. Since I was not feeling very hungry, I ate just 3 biscuits and drank water.

Soon we noticed that the light intensity was decreasing. We were all excited. Despite my friend’s warnings, I was tempted to look into the sky. After some time, I began to feel irritation in my eyes. I became a bit tensed. And so during that lecture hour, I sat wondering what would happen if I lose my sight. I held my friend’s hand and began to feel it, so that I could recognize her in case I lost my sight. I know it was all silly, but then it was funny too.

During the 10 minute break at 12pm, I went to fill my bottle with water. One of my friends was alarmed at this sight. He warned me not to drink the water, but I was feeling very thirsty and drank it.

Later we were all assembled near the e-learning centre watching the eclipse on television. Many students stood in the corridor and some students reflected the sun’s image using mirrors and watches onto the walls. It was all amazing, everyone was enthusiastic. A telescope was arranged in our college to watch the spectacular event. Some students even went into the terrace to get a glimpse of the eclipse.

Later, at about 1:15pm, we heard loud applause from somewhere and we thought that the total eclipse was now visible. We were having maths class then. We asked Mam permission to go out and Mam gave into our pleas. As soon Mam nodded her head, we rushed out of the classroom into the corridor. There were some students who had strips of x-ray film. One of the students offered it to me and asked me to look in a particular direction. I looked through the film into the direction she pointed. At first I could not see anything. But soon I saw the sun partly covered by the moon’s shadow. I was so much fascinated that I cannot express the feeling through words. I had watched eclipses on television, but it was the first time that I was watching it directly. I began to yell with joy. (Again it was stupid, but I couldn’t help itJ). When I returned to class, Mam asked me whether I saw the eclipse. I was so happy that anyone could read it from my face that I had witnessed the breathtaking event.

Later Mam told us that she had her lunch at 12pm. And she told us that all the arguments of food turning into poison were just superstitions. I felt relieved. I realized that the day had been wonderful with the eclipse itself and all the other beliefs surrounding it. Most of us had to remain hungry throughout the day, but still the spectacular sight of eclipse made up for it. The day was indeed one of its kind…………….

(Note: I would like to thank my friend CS15 who actually encouraged me to write this post. When she saw my excitement after watching the eclipse, she asked me whether I would blog about my experience. And I felt it was a great idea. So thanks a lot dear…..)

An Intelligent Poem

Standard

I know what you’ll be expecting after reading the title of this poem – a poem for ‘intelligent’ people about an ‘intelligent’ topic written by a ‘not so intelligent girl’. But friends, you are in for a surprise. This poem has nothing to do with any ‘intelligent’ topic. So why this title????

I’ll explain… There’s a small story behind this ‘weird title’ (as usual :)). I was attending my ‘Intelligence Systems’ class this fine morning. And when our Mam was explaining to us about the various kinds of intelligent systems, my mind somehow slipped altogether to a different world. I was suddenly miles away from ‘intelligent programming’ and was in this new ‘dream world’. I found that my mind was suddenly flooded with a lot of emotions and I decided to jot them down.

So I grabbed my pencil, and started writing on my clean desk. It was not that I didn’t have a notebook, but I somehow found immense pleasure in writing on desk with pencil. I was sitting on the first row, right under my teacher’s nose. I occasionally looked at the teacher to assure her that I was still listening to her, except that I was a bit distracted. Somehow she did not seem to mind me doing my business, maybe because she was very much occupied with ‘designing intelligent things’. And so did not mind ‘a not so intelligent girl’ getting involved in  a different activity. Finally ‘it’ was born. I thought ‘it’ was a poem, but according to my friend, who also happens to be a wonderful poet himself, it was a song. Anyways, it was neither an article nor a short story.

I showed it to my ‘desk mates’, who are also my best buddies. They liked it and commented that it was very ‘romantic’. And it was one of them,CS31, who gave me the idea of sharing this with you guys through this space. So here I’m presenting my humble creation inspired by a spontaneous flow of unknown emotions. Now that makes a perfect one liner for my poem. So check it out guys and let me know whether it’s actually a poem or song……

(Disclaimer: This poem has no resemblance with any person ‘living’ or ‘dead’ whom I’ve met in my life. But if you happen to find him, do tell me!!!! :))

I search for you –

In the dark

In the rain

On the moon

And in the shade

I know you are there somewhere

Behind the shadows

Searching for me-

The way I do for you

I know the day’ll come

When destiny’ll bring us together

As we stand face to face

With our eyes gleaming

And heart beating

As if it was on a race

The day’ll be one of its kind

With the stars shining just for us

And the moon blessing us

With its white pure beam